Christmas Wreath – DIY Tutorial

This should be a very easy tutorial, so I hope you will forgive me for not taking step by step photos. I was so excited to make these wreaths that I totally forgot to photograph them. (I made 5 of them in 1 evening 🙂 ). And I already gave them away, so no chance to take photos now. But I really wanted to share with you this tutorial, while you still have time to make at least one for Christmas.

What you need:

1. Fir/pine cones  – I collected my cones from the forest, but I am pretty sure you can find them in stores too. If you do have a forest nearby, I suggest you take a walk in the woods and collect them yourself. It gives an even more personal touch, and soul.

2. Card board – simple cardboard for the wreath base.

3. Glue gun

4. Scissors

5. A burning candle – just for fun 🙂

Let’s get started:

If you did collect your cones from the forest, it’s a good idea to “cook” them for a few minutes, just in case you brought home some bugs along. So just put them in the oven for a couple of minutes at a medium temperature. This helps also with the cones that are still young and not wide opened.

I made my wreath base with just old cardboard from different products (I am trying to recycle as much as I can). In stores you can find different wreath bases (from foam, grapevine, straw, etc).

If you are like me and you don’t want to spend unnecessary money (and help the environment) this is how you make your own wreath base:

Just cut a wreath base (circle, or any other shape you want your wreath to be), as big as you want your wreath to be, keeping in mind that you are going to add the pine cones, so it’s going to be a little bigger. To give it a little shape, I started to cut little pieces of cardboard and glue them to the base.  I don’t have a step by step picture (as mentioned before), but I think it’s pretty clear from the pictures below:

If you want to add candles to the wreath, now it’s the time to add them. Just glue the little candle holders in the place you want them to be. I used small candle holders from Ikea.

And then, just start gluing the pine cones to the base. Start by placing the big ones in random places, and then just fill in between.

Use all the little pine cones to fill any gaps, et voila:

As I said, i didn’t make a lot of pictures, I don’t even have a photo with the finished wreath with candles. 😦

I promise I will take photos of all the wreath that I made, in their own home now.

Initially, I wanted to decorate them with some color, but at the end, I liked them better this way, simple and elegant. From here, you can play however you want: you can add some small Christmas Balls, or any other Christmas ornaments; you can spray paint it (white, gold), you can add some fake snow, whatever pleases you. There are no limits in creating.

I would love to see what you’ve made. Send some pictures!

Happy creating!

 

 

About The Morning Whisper

Handmade, Events, Deco, Lifestyle and more https://themorningwhisper.wordpress.com/ https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheMorningWhisper http://www.ravelry.com/designers/patricia-ostate
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Wreath – DIY Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Gold Christmas Tablescape Decor

  2. Pingback: Time Flies – How do you stop it? | The Morning Whisper

Leave a Reply

